American Speedway  

2011 Victorville Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2011 California Results Page

US Speedway History

Victorville Speedway
San Bernardino County Fairgrounds
Victorville, California

Sidecar National Championship
October 22, 2011
Results By: Steve Evans

Joe Jones & Jimmy Olsen retained their Sidecar National Championship in front of a packed house at Victorville on Saturday October 22nd - though it was by far the hardest battle the #1 team had added to their dominance. It was a two way battle all night between the defending Champions and local bases #5150 team of Dylan Beard and Crystal Laurie, who were just two points adrift as the evening begun.

After each title contending crew won their first heats, they met in round 2 with the 5150 team coming out on top, reducing the deficit to one point. Each team then won their round three heat. In round four the contenders met up again, this team the #1 team coming out on top - both teams ending on 11 points from the heats on the night. The Main Event saw the 5150 team getting a lightening start and leading the #1 crew all the way. This meant that after a season long points battle and two rounds, the two crews were tied on 51 Championship points. So, a run off for the title was in order. Once again the 5150 team made the best start though the defending champions soon made their way past and into the lead. It soon became apparent that the local team of Beard and Laurie had put one race too many on their sidecar as they lost ground and performance leaving Jones and Olsen once more as Champions. Third place in the series went to Sean & Missy Driggers on 38 points.

As well as their Sidecars there were 5 other National Titles up for grabs. The very impressive Troy McConnell led home Rudy Laurer to win Division Two. Lauer and McConnell had each won a heat each on the way.

Third Division had eight riders and each had two qualifying heats - the top 3 on points went to the Championship final with the other 5 going to a Last Chance. Joey St.Louis was perfect in the heats with Tony DeAlmeida and Bander Alexander finishing on five points. The Last Chance race really showed how much the title meant to the riders. Steve Brown got a great gate but was chased hard first by CJ Sanborn and later by Kip McClain McClain made a great do or die effort on the final turn but it was Brown who made the transfer. In the final Brown made the gate and led everyone into turn one. The fast rising St Louis however had other ideas and made the pass coming around turn 2. DeAlmeida made it by shortly after to grab second but that is how the places remained.

Broc Nicol all won 200cc Junior races including the National race. His opposition was new to the track but both runner up Maverick Molloy and 3rd placed Chase Sanborn made dramatic improvement as the night went on.

The Pee Wees contested two titles - the Open Class was a NorCal one two with twins Stirling and Alex Martin leading all the way - Sara Cords was third. In the stock class it was Cords who rode a fabulous race, holding off local favorite Dakota Shockley. Third place went to Luke Whitcomb.

The 250cc Juniors also raced - after Max Ruml won both heats, bike problems kept him out of the Main - his brother Dylan led Broc Nicol home.

The 2nd Championship Night at Victorville takes place on November 12th - The Speedway Masters Track Championship will include all Divisions including a full 1st Division Program as Eddie Castro defends the title he won last year. This race will have an earlier than usual start time of 4:30pm.


Sidecar National Points (Top 5)
1. Joe Jones / Jimmy Olsen 51 (wins run off)
2. Dylan Beard / Crystal Laurie 51
3. Sean Driggers / Missy Driggers 38
4. Chris Jones / Brandi McElroy 26
5. Scott / Riley Driggers 20

Division Two National (Top 3)
1. Troy McConnell
2. Rudy Laurer
3. Max Ruml

Division Three LCQ
1. Steve Brown
2. Kip McClain
3. CJ Sanborn
4. Carl Shockley
5. Rick Huspek

Division Three National Final
1. Joey St. Louis
2. Tony DeAlmeida
3. Steve Brown
4. Bander Alexander

Junior 200cc National Final
1. Broc Nicol
2. Maverick Molloy
3. Chase Sanborn

Open Pee Wee National
1. Stirling Martin
2. Alex Martin
3. Sara Cords
4. Dakota Shockley
5. Luke Whitcomb
6. Riley Hull

Stock Pee Wee National
1. Sara Cords
2. Dakota Shockley
3. Luke Whitcomb
4. Riley Hull

250cc Juniors
1. Dillon Ruml
2. Broc Nicol
3. Max Ruml

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.