American Speedway  

2013 Pirate Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2013 California Results

2013 Pirate Speedway

Pirate Speedway
National Orange Show
Arrowhead Ave
San Bernardino, California 92408

California Speedway
September 13, 2013 - Pirate Speedway - San Bernardino
Results By: Ryan Evans | Photos by Dorcey Wingo

2013 Pirate Speedway 2013 Pirate Speedway 2013 Pirate Speedway
Pee Wee Main - 5 riders in this one... #185 Jonas LeoGrande leads #13 Tanner Richey to the Finish Line. Jonas LeoGrande's victory lap.
2013 Pirate Speedway 2013 Pirate Speedway 2013 Pirate Speedway
150cc Main Event, 6 riders in this one. #4 Courtney Crone, with Victory smile! #18 Sebastian Palmese settled for 2nd place.
2013 Pirate Speedway 2013 Pirate Speedway 2013 Pirate Speedway
250cc Main Event. #111 Dillon Ruml, taking command for the win. #104 Kurtis Hamill, settles for 2nd place.
2013 Pirate Speedway   2013 Pirate Speedway
Veteran rider #214 Steve Murray, before his gnarly crash in the Main Event.   #211 Steve Brown (outside, left) #376 Jeremy Dunn test each other's line.
2013 Pirate Speedway 2013 Pirate Speedway 2013 Pirate Speedway
Support Main Event. #351 Pam "Pinky" Bennett, winning big. 1st Division Last Chance.
2013 Pirate Speedway 2013 Pirate Speedway 2013 Pirate Speedway
"Fast" Eddie Castro advances to the Main Event. Scratch Main Event - Boogaloo's on the sideline with a tape exclusion. #46 Aaron Fox, impressive all evening; taking 3rd place.
2013 Pirate Speedway 2013 Pirate Speedway 2013 Pirate Speedway
#308 Max Ruml (inside) flying along with #104 Billy Hamill. "Mad" Max, taking 2nd place. Billy "The Bullet" Hamill, looking unbeatable!

Pirate Speedway - San Bernardino, CA, USA - September 13

Billy "The Bullet" Hamill was unbeaten all night and narrowly won a hotly contested Scratch Main Event at Pirate Speedway.

Hamill made the best start from gate two, led the field into turn one, and immediately went to the outside for maximum traction. The cushion was far enough outside and Max Ruml made the inside line work well enough that the two were side-by-side on the back straight and into turn three. The pair were still handlebar-to-handlebar through lap one as Hamill tried to get across the Under 21 National Champion to secure the lead but his momentum would inevitably take him to the outside. The pattern continued for the next two laps with Hamill pulling in front of the teenager entering the corner only to be carried wide by his speed and allowing Max Ruml to charge underneath on the straights. The battle came down to the last lap and Hamill dived just inches in front of his protégé as they entered the final corner. This time the former World Champion made his bike stick and held on to the finish line. Max Ruml had to settle for a well-respected second, Aaron Fox finished third, "Fast" Eddie Castro was fourth, and Bobby "Boogaloo" Schwartz was credited with fifth.

Fox opened the evening with a win over Steve Russell. Hamill blazed to victory over Schwartz in the second heat. Max Ruml beat Tyson Talkington to end round one.

Max Ruml started round two with a defeat of Russell. Fox beat Schwartz in the next heat. Hamill triumphed over Castro to finish the second round.

Fox started the last round by beating Castro. Max Ruml beat Troy McConnell in the next event. Hamill cruised to victory over Talkington in the final heat.

Hamill scorched the track with another victory in the first semi with Max Ruml getting second to join him in the main. Fox won the second semi with Schwartz holding off Castro for the second transfer to the main. Castro got himself into the main event by winning the Last Chance.

The first attempt to complete the Support Main Event ended with Steve Murray crashing hard in turn four. Murray was tended to by the personnel on scene before the decision was made to have him transported to a local hospital. Murray was released the next day.

Pam "Pinky" Bennett led the first three laps of the restart when a crash behind her brought out the red flag. Bennett was awarded the victory, Jeremy Dunn was second, Steve "Beach Ball" Brown finished third, "Rattlesnake" Steve Bowen was fourth, and Dave Troutt was fifth.

Dillon Ruml, who won the Junior National Championship the previous week, led all four laps en route to victory in the Junior 250 Main Event. Kurtis Hamill finished second, Dalton Leedy was third, and Michael Wells finished fourth.

Dryden LeoGrande led the Mini 150 Main Event the first three laps but Courtney Crone, who had started on the 50 yard line, was closing fast. Crone went by Dryden LeoGrande in turn one and led the rest of the way for the victory. Mini 150 National Champion Sebastian Palmese was second, Dryden LeoGrande ended up third, Sara Cords was fourth, Dakota Shockley finished fifth, and Luke Whitcomb was sixth.

Jake Troutt the first lap of the Pee Wee Main Event before Tanner Richey took over the lead. Richey led the next three laps then succumbed to the pressure from Jonas LeoGrande. Jonas LeoGrande led the final lap and claimed the win. Richey held on to second, Jacob Loverock finished third, Jake Troutt was fourth, and Nick Dunn finished fifth.


Pee Wee Main Event
185 - Jonas LeoGrande
13 - Tanner Richey
25 - Jacob Loverock
326 - Jake Troutt
76 - Nick Dunn

Mini 150cc Main Event
4 - Courtney Crone 40
18 - Sebastian Palmese 40
185 - Dryden LeoGrande 0
14 - Sara Cords 0
419 - Dakota Shockley 0
27 - Luke Whitcomb 0

Junior 250cc Main Event
1 - Dillon Ruml
104 - Kurtis Hamill
222 - Dalton Leedy
214 - Michael Wells

Support Last Chance
376 – Nick Dunn 0
351 – Pam Bennett 0
220 – Tom Bryant 0
227 – Wade Whitcomb 0
116 – Chris Jones 50 (fell, remounted)

Support Main Event (restarted) (awarded)
351 - Pam Bennett 0
376 - Jeremy Dunn 0
211 - Steve Brown 10
177 - Steve Bowen 50 (fell)
210 - Dave Troutt 0 (fell)
214 - Steve Murray 40 (non-starter, restart)

First Division Heat Scoring 1 2 3 T
11 – Bobby Schwartz 2 2 1 5
14 – Eddie Castro 1 2 2 5
23 – Steve Russell 2 2 1 5
37 – Joe Donaldson 0 0 0 0
46 – Aaron Fox 3 3 3 9
48 – Tyson Talkington 2 1 2 5
104 – Billy Hamill 3 3 3 9
114 – Troy McConnell 1 1 2 4
185 – Kayle LeoGrande 1 0 0 1
208 – Geoff Herkner 0 0 1 1
245 – Mike Fuson 0 1 0 1
308 – Max Ruml 3 3 3 9

Heat Results
1: Fox, Russell, LeoGrande, Herkner
2: Hamill, Schwartz, McConnell (fell, remounted), Donaldson
3: Ruml, Talkington, Castro, Fuson
9: Ruml, Russell, Fuson, LeoGrande
10: Fox, Schwartz, Talkington, Donaldson
11: Hamill, Castro, McConnell, Herkner
17: Fox, Castro, Schwartz, Fuson
18: Ruml, McConnell, Russell, Donaldson
19: Hamill, Talkington, Herkner, LeoGrande
Semi #1: Hamill, Ruml, Talkington, Russell
Semi #2: Fox, Schwartz, Castro, McConnell

First Division Last Chance
14 - Eddie Castro
23 - Steve Russell
48 - Tyson Talkington
114 - Troy McConnell

First Division Main Event
104 - Billy Hamill
308 - Max Ruml
46 - Aaron Fox
14 - Eddie Castro
11 - Bobby Schwartz (tape exclusion)

Ryan Evans

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.