American Speedway  

2013 Costa Mesa Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2013 California Results

2013 Costa Mesa Speedway
Miranda Oxley and Roxanne Faria looking great!

2013 Costa Mesa Speedway
Aaron Fox gets interviewed by announcer Terry Clanton just before the First Division main.

Costa Mesa Speedway
Orange County Fairgrounds
Costa Mesa, California

Motorcycle Demolition Derby
September 7, 2013 - Costa Mesa
Results By: Ryan Evans | Photos by Paul Flanders

2013 Costa Mesa Speedway 2013 Costa Mesa Speedway 2013 Costa Mesa Speedway
Tyson Burmeister and girlfriend Erin Duran enjoy his first Costa Mesa main event win. Kyle Hicks won the Support Class main. Sebastian Palmese won the Mini Speedway 150cc main. Dual Anderson and Ethan Smith won the sidecar main.
2013 Costa Mesa Speedway 2013 Costa Mesa Speedway 2013 Costa Mesa Speedway
Luke Whitcomb's school teacher came to watch him race and win the Pee Wee main. Sebastian Palmese celebrates his 150cc main with Broc Nicol, who won the Junior 250cc main. Dillon Ruml, Max Ruml and Broc Nicol are greeted by Damon Barry near the start of the riders' parade.
2013 Costa Mesa Speedway 2013 Costa Mesa Speedway 2013 Costa Mesa Speedway
When the announcer invited anyone to step up to sing the National Anthem, this 14 year old sang it beautifully. Dillon Ruml and his father Dave made the 400 mile trek after Dillon won the AMA Youth 250cc National Championship the night before in Auburn. Race fans waiting for the riders' parade to get around to them.

Motorcycle Demolition Derby Night - Costa Mesa, CA, USA - September 7

Tyson Burmeister turned in a brilliant performance and, after winning main events at the other Southern California venues in his career, finally claimed a Scratch Main Event victory at the world famous Costa Mesa Speedway.

Burmeister and Under 21 National Champion "Mad" Max Ruml were tied on points entering the main event and Max Ruml won the draw for first gate choice. Max Ruml predictably chose gate one. Burmeister quickly snapped up gate two. Aaron Fox selected gate five. Gino Manzares picked gate four which left gate three to Shawn "Mad Dog" McConnell.

Burmeister made the best start and was able to get across Max Ruml as they entered turn one. The field was in tight formation as they raced down the back straight and into turn three. Burmeister led but the scramble behind him pushed Fox up the track and Manzares nudged him. The contact sent Manzares toward the wall and he dismounted before disaster struck. The bike and rider were quickly out of harm's way so the race continued. Max Ruml had the best shot at the leader and he stayed glued to his back tire and waited for a mistake. Burmeister was withstood every challenge that Max Ruml could muster and kept him at bay all the way to the finish. An ecstatic Burmeister soaked in his accomplishment on the victory lap. McConnell was third, Fox finished fourth, and Manzares was credited with fifth.

Max Ruml kicked off the evening with a win over McConnell. Steve Russell led the second race until Fox went around the outside for the lead and the win. Bobby "Boogaloo" Schwartz beat "Battling" Buck Blair in the third event. Burmeister ended round one with a win over Manzares.

Manzares beat McConnell to start round two with his first win. Brad Sauer led the first lap before Max Ruml cut under him for the lead win. Fox beat Tyson Talkington for his second straight win. Burmeister made it two wins in a row by defeating Blair.

Blair opened the final round of heats by beating McConnell. Manzares defeated Steve Russell for his second consecutive win. Schwartz held off Max Ruml in a very fast event 19. Fox beat Burmeister to finish the heats with a perfect score.

Burmeister and Manzares finished one-two in the first semi and transferred to the main event. Schwartz made a great start and was on his way to victory in the second semi when a mechanical issue caused him to slide off entering the final corner. Fox made contact with the prone Schwartz and by the time he recovered Max Ruml had slipped by for the win. Fox finished second to transfer to the main event as well. McConnell won the Last Chance and transferred to the main.

Second-generation speedway racer Davey Shaw led the Support Main Event before being passed by fourth-generation competitor Kyle Hicks. Shaw tried to regain the lead but a crash in turn two brought out the red flag. Hicks was awarded the victory, Shaw was second, Harold Hartke finished third, Carl Gazafy finished fourth, and Shawn Eldredge was credited with fifth.

Broc Nicol was awarded the victory after several crashes brought a premature end to the Junior 250 Main Event. Hayley Perrault was second, Dalton Leedy was third, Michael Wells was fourth, and newly-crowned Junior National Champion Dillon Ruml was credited with fifth because of a tape exclusion.

Tristan Britt led the Mini 150 Main Event for nearly four laps but Courtney Crone stormed up the inside for the lead. Her lead didn't last long as Sebastian Palmese took over as they entered turn three the next lap. Palmese held on the rest of the way for the win. Crone settled for second, Britt was third, Slater Lightcap finished fourth, Jake Isaac was fifth, and Travis Hamilton finished sixth.

Dual Anderson and Ethan Smith led all four laps en route to victory in the Sidecar Main Event. National Champions Joe Jones and Johnny Glover finished second, Jeff Rowe and John Bach were third, and Bryan Motis and Josh Bennett finished fourth.


Sidecar Main Event
007 - Dual Anderson/Ethan Smith
1 - Joe Jones/Johnny Glover
1965 - Jeff Rowe/John Bach
2 - Bryan Motis/Josh Bennett (retired)

Mini 150cc Main Event
18 - Sebastian Palmese 30
4 - Courtney Crone 30
11 - Tristan Britt 0
28 - Slater Lightcap 0
16 - Jake Isaac 0
144 - Travis Hamilton 0

Junior 250cc Main Event (awarded)
98 - Broc Nicol
0 - Hayley Perrault
222 - Dalton Leedy (fell)
214 - Michael Wells (fell)
1 - Dillon Ruml (tape exclusion)

Support Main Event (awarded)
103 - Kyle Hicks
145 - Davey Shaw
290 - Harold Hartke
176 - Carl Gazafy
357n - Shawn Eldredge (excluded)

First Division Heat Scoring 1 2 3 T
6 – Shawn McConnell 2 2 2 6
9 – Mike Faria 1 2 E 3
11 – Bobby Schwartz 3 1 3 7
21 – Brad Sauer 1 1 1 3
23 – Steve Russell 2 1 2 5
24 – Gino Manzares 2 3 3 8
26 – Tyson Burmeister 3 3 2 8
37 – Joe Donaldson 0 1 0 1
38 – Ryan Tovatt 0 0 1 1
39 – Buck Blair 2 2 3 7
46 – Aaron Fox 3 3 3 9
48 – Tyson Talkington 1 2 1 4
178 – Eloy Medellin 1 0 0 1
185 – Kayle LeoGrande 0 0 1 1
208 – Geoff Herkner 0 0 0 0
308 – Max Ruml 3 3 2 8

Race Results
1: Ruml, McConnell, Talkington, Tovatt
2: Fox, Russell, Faria, Donaldson
3: Schwartz, Blair, Medellin, Herkner
4: Burmeister, Manzares, Sauer, LeoGrande
9: Manzares, McConnell, Donaldson, Medellin
10: Ruml, Faria, Sauer, Herkner
11: Fox, Talkington, Schwartz, LeoGrande
12: Burmeister, Blair, Russell, Tovatt
17: Blair, McConnell, Talkington, Herkner (fell, remounted)
18: Manzares, Russell, LeoGrande, Faria (engine failure)
19: Schwartz, Ruml, Tovatt, Medellin
20: Fox, Burmeister, Sauer, Donaldson
Semi #1: Burmeister, Manzares, McConnell, Faria, Blair (fell)
Semi #2: Ruml, Fox, Russell, Talkington, Schwartz (fell)

First Division Last Chance
6 - Shawn McConnell
9 - Mike Faria
23 - Steve Russell
48 - Tyson Talkington

First Division Main Event
26 - Tyson Burmeister
308 - Max Ruml
6 - Shawn McConnell
46 - Aaron Fox
24 - Gino Manzares (fell)

Ryan Evans

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.