American Speedway  

2010 Champion Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2010 East Coast Results

US Speedway History

Champion Speedway
Owego, New York

Clark and Buman Score Wins at Champion
By Jason Bonsignore
Champion Owego, New York, USA - August 14, 2010
Eastern Speedway Promotions
Photo of Dave Clark by Silent Shots

The program on August 14 at Champion Speedway began with Handicap racing where the more skilled riders start further behind the lesser experienced. Andy Crawford was able to hold the pack off to win the first ride with Dave Clark in second, Jeremy "Darkhorse" Parsons in third and Keith Hawkins in fourth. Casey Donholt followed that up with of win of his own from the 50 yard line with Adam "The Missile" Mittl second, Ray Barondick third and Shawn "Steamboat" Engel fourth. Tuff McBride ended the heats rounds by taking a checkered flag as well. Behind him were Mikey Buman, Russ Cornell and Jerry "Buefford" Harman.

In the first handicap semifinal McBride was coming from a 50 yard disadvantage but picked off two riders and passed them on the first three laps. On lap four he made a spectacular split of three more to take the lead and eventually the win. Gaining transfer spots in second and third were Clark and Donholt, who just got Hawkins by inches at the line. Engel was fifth and Harman pulled out with an injury.

Buman and Mittl took first and second in the second semi with Parsons getting third and the last spot in the final. Crawford and Cornell were fourth and fifth with Barondick sixth.

McBride kicked off the scratch heat racing with another win. Mittl rode hard and took second with Crawford third and Engel not finishing. Clark, Parsons and Donholt then had a great race with all four elbows apart for four laps and Clark winning with Parsons second, Donholt third and Barondick fourth. Buman won his heat over Hawkins, and Cornell with a open spot due to Harman out.

Parsons and Mittl blasted out in front in the first scratch semi but on the third lap Mittl hit a big rut in the track and got moved way out. This opened the door for Buman to move into second and grab a transfer position. Parsons, won Mittl was third with Hawkins fourth and Cornell fifth. McBride stayed unbeaten when he won the last semi. Donholt was second, Clark third, Engel fourth and Crawford fifth.

For the last chance Mittl came out on a 22 inch rear wheel as there was enough dirt to make it work. It made for a great show as Mittl rode the outside and Clark the inside with Mittl winning. Hawkins was third, and Cornell fourth.

Buman drew the pole for the scratch final with Donholt in two, McBride in three, Parsons in four and Mittl in five. Everyone seemed to get bottled up off the start but Buman emerged from the pile and rode a smooth inside line for his second win of the year. McBride was next with Mittl third, Parsons fourth and Donholt fifth.

The handicap main had five of the six riders on the 50 yard marker and only Clark ahead of them on the 40. Clark was to make no mistakes and held off the pack for the main event win! McBride was second for most of the race but Parsons made a nice outside pass on the last turn to grab second. Buman capped off a good night with fourth, Mittl was fifth and Donholt sixth.

Champion Speedway now has the new go-kart track open and plays host to a huge legends of speedway night plus regular race program on August 28 and the US Open Nationals Sept. 4 and 5.

Dave Clark

Scratch Main
1. Mike Buman
2. Tuff McBride
3. Adam Mittl
4. Jeremy Parsons
5. Casey Donholt

Handicap Main
1. Dave Clark
2. Jeremy Parsons
3. Tuff McBride
4. Mikey Buman
5. Adam Mittl
6. Casey Donholt

Support A
1. Mark Bradley
2. Ray Barondick
3. Ron Walker
4. Zach Peters
5. Bunk Harris

Support B
1. Bill Papula
2. Delbert Roser

Junior Speedway
1. Spencer Portararo
2. Dakota Crone

Junior Dirt Bikes
1. Dakota Crone

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.